Dallas Meth Attorney
If you’ve been arrested for possession of methamphetamine (also known as speed, crank, or crystal meth), you could be facing serious jail time. Pursuant to the Texas Controlled Substances Act, regulated substances are divided into four “penalty groups.” Crystal meth is assigned to
Penalty Group 1, the most serious of the four. In Texas, even if you’re alleged to possess less than 1 gram, you will be charged with a state jail felony. The penalty range includes from 180 days to 2 years in the state jail, and up to a $10,000 fine.
Possession of between one and four grams is punishable by two to ten years in state prisons, etc. As you might guess, the penalty range continues to increase, depending upon the weight of the drugs involved. Possession of over 400 grams carries a potentail life sentence. Again, these punishments are for simple possession.