Dallas Indecent Exposure Attorney
Dallas Indecent Exposure Lawyer
In order to be charged with indecent exposure, it must be alleged that you “exposed yourself” to another person. However, that fact, alone, is not sufficient to sustain a prosecution for indecent exposure. Two other elements must also be proved by the state, beyond a reasonable doubt. First, the statute further requires that you intended to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of any person (i.e., either yourself, or someone else). Additionally, it must be proved at trial that you were reckless as to whether someone else might have been alarmed or offended by your conduct. If any of these elements is missing, a prosecution for indecent exposure cannot be sustained. Under Texas law, indecent exposure is a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a penalty range of up to 180 days in jail, and up to a $2000 fine. Additionally, if you’re convicted a second time of this charge, you will be required to register as a sex offender.
If you’ve been arrested or charged with indecent exposure, you need serious legal help. You should call the criminal defense lawyers at Berlof & Newton, P.C. 214.827.2800. Free consultation. Or contact one of our attorneys directly, using the “Get Legal Help Now!” form, located in the left margin of this web page. Se habla espanol.
FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK, AND JOIN US ON GOOGLE PLUS!
Texas Penal Code Section 21.08. INDECENT EXPOSURE. (a) A person commits an offense if he exposes his anus or any part of his genitals with intent to arouse or gratify the sexual desire of any person, and he is reckless about whether another is present who will be offended or alarmed by his act.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
Acts 1973, 63rd Leg., p. 883, ch. 399, Sec. 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1974. Amended by Acts 1983, 68th Leg., p. 509, ch. 924, Sec. 1, eff. Sept. 1, 1983; Acts 1993, 73rd Leg., ch. 900, Sec. 1.01, eff. Sept. 1, 1994.