Have you been charged with burglary
? In Texas, the criminal offense of burglary
is considered a second degree felony. As such, it carries a penalty range of two to twenty years in state prison, and a find of up to $10,000. However, if it’s alleged that the burglary
was undertaken in an effort to commit another felony offense (e.g., aggravated assault), under these facts, the burglary
charge becomes a first degree felony. For first degree felony burglary
offenses, the penalty range is
from 5 to 99 years in prison, or life, and a fine not to exceed $10,000. Of course, the good news is that if you receive life in prison, you’re probably not too concerned with paying the fine.
Curiously, to be charged with burglary
, it’s not required that you actually enter the home you’re alleged to have burglarized. Rather, so long as any any item under your control enters the home, or any of your body parts, you can be charged with burglary
under Texas law. For example, if you drill a hole in a door while attempting to gain unauthorized entrance, and the drill bit goes through the door, a burglary
charge can result. Furthermore, as indicated above, if it could be proven beyond a reasonable doubt at your trial that you had done so with the intent to commit another felony, you could be convicted of first degree burglary
, and sentenced to life in prison!
If you’ve been charged with burglary
, you’re facing serious criminal charges that you shouldn’t take lightly. Seek experienced legal representation immediately. Don’t leave your fate to chance!
Locations We Service:
Justice of the Peace Collin County,
Justice of the Peace Collin County