Are you facing charges for possession of methamphetamine?  You need a skilled criminal defense lawyer to assist you.  If you’ve been arrested, and its alleged you were in possession of meth, you could be facing prison time.    Possession of methamphetamine, also known as speed, crank, or crystal meth, is a felony offense in Texas, even if the amount alleged to have been possessed is very small.  Under Texas law, controlled substances are divided into four “penalty groups.”  Possession of meth falls under Penalty Group 1, the most serious of the four.  Even possession of less than 1 gram of meth will result in your being charged with a state jail felony.  The penalty range for state jail felony possession of methamphetamine includes up to 180 days to 2 years in the state jail, and up to a $10,000 fine. Possession of between one and four grams of methamphetamine is punishable by two to ten years in the state penitentiary, and a fine of up to $10,000.  Possession of over 400 grams carries a potentail life sentence.  Again, these punishments are for simple possession.  Punishments for the sale of methamphetamine are even greater.

Related Pages:

Locations We Service: Addison, Balch Springs, Carrollton, Cockrell Hill, Coppell, University Park, Desoto, Duncanville, Farmers Branch, Garland, Highland Park, Irving , Lancaster, Mesquite, Richardson, Rowlett, Seagoville, Sunnyvale, University Park,Allen, Collin County , Frisco, University Park